Organizing files

Star important files

Right-click a file or folder and select Add to Starred to flag as important for easy finding later. To see all your starred files and folders, click Starred from the left side menu.

Moving files

See Moving Data from Google My Drive to Shared drives for instructions on moving files or folders from My Drive to a Shared drives. Note that you can move any file that you own from My Drive to a Shared drives.

To move files between Shared drives you need to have the Manager role on the original Shared drive hosting the file and at least the Contributor role in the destination Shared drive.

Deleting or restoring files

Move a file to the trash:

  1. You must have at least the Contributor role for the Shared drives
  2. Click the file you wish to delete
  3. At the top, click Trash
  4. Click Delete For Everyone

The file will be moved to the Shared drives’ Trash folder for 30 days and is accessible by other members of the Shared drive during that time.

Permanently delete a file in the trash:

  1. You must have the Manager role
  2. In the Trash folder for the drive, right-click the file you want to delete and select Delete forever
  3. Click Delete Forever to confirm

Restore a file from the trash:

  1. A file can be restored from the trash for 30 days after it was deleted
  2. You must have at least the Contributor role
  3. Click the Shared drives in the left sidebar
  4. At the top next to the Shared drives’ name, click the Down arrow > View trash
  5. Click the file and the Restore button
    Restore a file in the Shared drives' trash

Delete a Shared drives

Tip: If you aren’t ready to delete a Shared drives, but you aren’t actively using it, you can hide it. Hiding a Shared drives removes it from your view. See instructions in the next section.

  1. You must have the Manager role for the drive
  2. Make sure the Shared drive is empty (all files and folders moved or deleted)
  3. Right-click the Shared drive you want to delete and click Delete shared drive
  4. Click Delete shared drive to confirm
    Delete a Shared drive

Hide a Shared drives

You can hide a Shared drives while still maintaining access to it. You can unhide the Shared drive at any time.

Hide a shared drives:
  1. In Google Drive, click Shared drives in the left-hand menu
  2. Right-click the Shared drive you wish to hide and select Hide shared drive
Unhide a shared drives:
  1. In Google Drive, click Shared drives in the left-hand menu
  2. At the top right, click Hidden shared drives
  3. Right-click the Shared drive you want to unhide and select Unhide shared drive