Google Takeout allows users to copy content from their Lafayette Google account and transfer it to another Google account. This process allows you to:

  • Keep important files and emails when you graduate, switch schools, or leave Lafayette.
  • Back up your files and emails.

What you can copy:

  • Email in Gmail (not contacts, chats, or tasks)
  • Documents in My Drive

The original files stay in your Lafayette account and any changes made to the copied files do not affect the originals.

What you cannot copy:

  • Files in Shared drives
  • Files in My Drive where you are a viewer
  • Files for which the owner has turned off the download, print, and copy options

Once the copy process is complete, you will receive a confirmation at your personal Gmail account about any files in My Drive that were not copied.

Copy & transfer your files

  1. If you don’t already have one, create a Google account to transfer the files to.
  2. To copy content that other people have shared with you, make sure those files have been added to your My Drive and are not only available in “Shared with me”.
  3. Sign into your Lafayette Gmail account and go to takeout.google.com/transfer.
  4. Enter the email address of the destination Google account.
  5. Select Send code.
  6. Check your personal Gmail account for the confirmation email, and in the email select Get confirmation code. A new tab will open with a code.
  7. Return to takeout.google.com/transfer and enter the code, and choose Verify.
  8. Choose the content you’d like to copy and select Start transfer.

Details about the process:

  • The copy process usually takes a few hours, but can take up to a week depending on the amount of content.
  • Copied files may appear in batches in the destination Google account during the copy process.
  • When the process is complete, you will receive a confirmation email to your personal Gmail account.

Viewing copied files:

  • Gmail: Copied Gmail content will appear with a label containing your Lafayette account name and the date you started the copy process.
  • Drive: Copied content will be in a folder labeled with your Lafayette account name and the date you started the copy process.

How copied files are different from the original files:

  • You automatically become the owner of all copied files on My Drive. The owners of the original files will remain as-is at Lafayette.
  • Copied files are not shared with others even if the original files are.
  • Comments are copied, but revision history is not.