Google Shared drives are shared file storage in Google Drive where teams can create, store, collaborate on, and access all their team-owned files. The following are some best practices to consider when creating Shared drives. To learn about using Shared drives versus My Drive, see Google Shared drives and My Drive Differences.
Consider the best way to organize your Shared drives before you create it. Shared drives permissions are granted either at the Shared drives level (i.e., members can access the entire Shared drive) or at the file level (i.e., members can only see that specific file within the Shared drive). You may want to create different Shared drives for different groups of people to keep the permissions simple and easy to manage.
Note: A Shared drive can have a maximum of 600 users and Google Groups or 50,000 total individuals.
Your department, division, or team may want to come up with a standard naming convention for all Shared drives. Some examples are:
Files that should be in a Shared drive like files that belong to a group of people or department instead of an individual, should be moved instead of making a copy. Moving the file maintains the original link and people with existing Edit/View/Comment permissions will maintain them even after the file is moved. Whereas, copying files will change the links of these files and could cause confusion among those with whom the files are shared since the files would reside in multiple locations.
Individuals require special permission to move folders from My Drive to a Shared drive and should contact the Help Desk at email@example.com or (610) 330-5501 to be granted 30 days to move their folders.
Note: A Shared drive can contain a maximum of 400,000 files and folders.
The Manager role has the highest level of access to the drive and should be limited to just a few people. See Shared drives membership roles for more information.
To help manage the accumulation of Shared drives in one’s view, it’s possible to hide Shared drives not accessed with much frequency. Hiding a Shared drives does not remove one’s membership from that Shared drive, nor does it affect any other member’s access to it.