Shared drives are shared spaces where groups of people can easily store, search, and access files. Unlike files in My Drive, files in Shared drives belong to the team instead of a particular individual. Even as members of the Shared drive change, the files stay exactly where they are and are accessible to all current members of the drive.
If you are unsure whether to use a My Drive folder or Shared drives folder, think about the following things:
If you answered yes to both questions, a Shared drives is probably the more appropriate solution.
When you add new members to your Shared drives, they are given Content manager access by default. You can change a member’s access level at any time. Information on the different Shared drives membership roles and level of access can be viewed on the Membership Roles page.
Note: If you remove someone from a Shared drive, they may still have access to files within the drive that have been shared in other ways such as through a shareable link.
Files and folders can be added to your drive in a variety of ways from different sources.